LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 (as amended) PUBLICATION OF RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST (Report by the Head of Customer Services)

1 INTRODUCTION

- **1.1** Section 42 of the Local Government Finance Act 1988 was amended by the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 to require billing authorities, such as Huntingdonshire District Council, to compile and maintain a rural settlement list.
- 1.2 The settlements referred to all those which appear to the authority to have a population of not more than 3,000 on the 31st December before the beginning of the chargeable financial year.
- 1.3 A rural settlement list must identify the boundary of each settlement, whether by defining the boundaries (for example, ward or parish boundaries) or referring to boundaries in a map or other document. This means that the Council can define the boundary of a rural settlement by reference to maps rather than accepting ward or parish boundaries to be the boundary of the settlement.
- **1.4** The purpose of the Rural Settlement List is to allow the Council to grant Rural Rate Relief to rural post offices, village shops, public houses and petrol stations.

2 CURRENT POSITION

- 2.1 Officers have undertaken a review of rural settlements and advise Members that no changes need to be made to the previously approved rural settlement list. This report is a formality to ensure compliance with legislation.
- 2.2 The rural settlement list, as proposed at Annex 'A', must be published and available for inspection by 31 December.
- 2.3 Where it is necessary to define boundaries, other than those of the respective parishes, these are illustrated by reference to maps and are unchanged since the last report. Members should note that these boundaries relate only to the application of Rural Rate Relief and not other matters (for example, planning development).

3 RECOMMENDATION

3.1 It is recommended that the District Council resolve that the rural settlement list shown at Annexes 'A' and 'B' be approved and made available for inspection as required throughout the three months preceding the beginning of the next financial year.

Contact Officer: Julia Barber – Head of Customer Services

(01480) 388105

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST

Abbotsley Hemingford Grey

Abbots Ripton Hilton Alconbury Holme

Alconbury Weston Holywell-cum-Needingworth

Alwalton Houghton & Wyton Barham & Woolley Kimbolton & Stonely

Bluntisham Kings Ripton

Brington & Molesworth Leighton Bromswold

Broughton Morborne
Buckden Offord Cluny*
Buckworth Offord D'Arcy*
Bury Old Hurst
Bythorn & Keyston Old Weston

Catworth Perry

Chesterton Pidley-cum-Fenton
Colne Ramsey Forty Foot*
Conington Ramsey St Mary's*
Covington Ramsey Mereside*
Denton & Caldecote Ramsey Heights*
Diddington Sibson-cum-Stibbington

Diddington Sibson-cum-Stibbington
Earith Southoe & Midloe

Easton Spaldwick
Ellington Stillton
Elton Stow Longa
Farcet (village area only)* The Stukeleys
Farcet (rural area)* Tilbrook

Fenstanton (village area only)* Toseland

Folksworth & Washingley
Glatton
Grafham
Upton & Coppingford
Upwood & the Raveleys
Waresley-cum-Tetworth

Great & Little Gidding

Great Gransden

Great Paxton

Great Staughton

Haddon

Water Newton

Winwick

Wistow

Woodhurst

Woodhurst

Woodwalton

Hail Weston

Wyton-on-the-Hill

Hamerton & Steeple Gidding Yelling

Hemingford Abbots

The boundaries to be used are those which currently define the relevant parish with the exception of those marked by an asterisk (*)

Maps for these areas are available on request.